My #Oppi Festival Itinerary

Two days till the start of Oppi Festival – wohoo! I thought of sharing my conference festival plan with you. Here you can find the whole program to create one for yourself.

The start is easy, because there is only one session going on. Krista Kiuru, Finland’s Minister of Education (and these days also of Communications?), is going to open the whole thing at noon on Friday. I’ll probably go a bit early just to check in with my fellow Sanoma people at our space. You should pay a visit too, there will be interesting talks and demos going on throughout the festival!

I’ve never seen Pasi Sahlberg in person, so that’s what I’ll do next. He’ll be speaking under the title Is Finnish education still the envy of the world?, along with other folks including a friend of mine, an excellent blogger Tim Walker. Check his Taught by Finland blog if you haven’t already.

Horace Dediu is another visionary I’ve never met, so I’ll probably continue my journey at the main stage. He will be joined by Valerie Hannon and former PM of Finland Esko Aho, talking about how digital influences education. If you don’t follow Horace on Twitter yet, do it now! His stream is packed with interesting charts and visualizations on mobile phenomena of all sorts.

Then at 3:45pm I’ll probably hop to Joy Space to check two talks on improving learning outcomes. There will a presentation about ClipScool, which is an alumni of Sanoma’s accelerator programs, concentrating on video content. In addition, Ken Chapman will present Desire2Learn‘s take on learning outcomes. Bound to be interesting stuff.

Friday’s closing session will have Sugatra Mitra. Just wow. This is the Hole in the Wall guy. The School in the Cloud guy. Nuff said, I’m not going to miss it.

That was Friday. Phew.

On to Saturday. At 10am Sarah Brown and Gavin Dykes will talk about involving young people in shaping the future of education. What could be more important?

Then at 11:10 I’ll hit the stage with Peter Vesterbacka, Clare Sutcliffe, and Simon Taylor to discuss education and startups. Come check it out!

I’m not 100% sure yet about the next session. It might be it’s time for hand’s on learn to code session with Scratch and Clare Sutcliffe. Or I will go to see Sanoma’s own John Martin talk about the future of education. We’ll see.

Then I’ll be on again at 1:50pm, talking about gamification at Play Space. Sneak preview: I’ll not concentrate on individual games that much, but rather on how elements from games should be applied throughout the “LX” (learning experience, cf. UX for user experience).

Closing session at 3pm and then we’re done. If I stick to this plan, I’ll be missing so many interesting things such as Harri Ketamo‘s Skillpixels talk, Aape‘s Smilification, Teemu Leinonen‘s design thinking, Lauri Järvilehto, and many others. Including lunches.

If you cannot make it to the festival, check the Twitter hashtag #oppi this Friday and Saturday!

 

Leave a Reply

